Yesterday I had another visit from my little birdie friend.  I was happy to find out that he is indeed a daddy.  He tapped on my second-floor window, flew away to grab a bug, and then flew to a little nest in a nearby branch to feed some baby birds!  The nest is well concealed under some leaves, but now that I know where it is I can see the babies.  It’s hard to tell how many there are, but when I see the parents feeding them, I see at least 3 little mouths opening up.  So cute!

I haven’t been able to photograph the birds being fed, so here is Tim’s version of baby bird mouth, when he was 6 months old and just starting solids.

Tim Baby Bird Mouth

I did manage to get a good look at the babies from below the tree, but I was unable to get perfect focus on them in the photos.  They have fuzzy grey heads, and are starting to develop yellow feathers on their chests.

IMG_8969

It’s hard to tell from the photo, but the nest is about 3 inches across, pretty small!  The mommy is a little shy, so I haven’t caught her yet.  But today, daddy bird gave me a nice little modeling session at my window.  He stayed a good long while as I photographed him, as if he was enjoying it!  Here he is chirping at me.  You can see how small he is compared to my tissue box.

IMG_8985

Are you looking at me?

IMG_8997

The penguin pose:

IMG_9006

I am so charmed by this little goldfinch family outside my window.  If I could do nothing but watch them all day, I would!

IMG_9011