In my spinning, up to now I’ve been so enamoured of the 2-ply barber pole color effect, that I’ve never learned Navajo plying before. So I decided to give it a try. I spun up some singles of undyed Coopworth from a Spunky Eclectic sampler.

Undyed Coopworth singles

After letting the singles sit for a day, I did my first Navajo ply!  I looked at a few YouTube videos for reference.  This one was the most helpful.  As you can see, it’s rather uneven.  I also had a problem with the singles breaking several times, since I wasn’t super careful when I was spinning them.  Next time, more twist! 

My first Navajo ply!

I do like the way it looks nice and round. Here it is on the niddy noddy.

Coopworth Navajo ply on the niddy

Skeined up:

Coopworth Navajo ply, skeined up

It’s about worsted weight, 67 yards.  Here it is close up:

Coopworth Navajo ply closeup

It’s a nice technique. I’ll probably use it with fiber of relatively uniform color when I want a 3-ply look-alike, or when I want to keep different colors separate.

