My Boatneck Bluebell is finished! I bound off and wove in ends a couple of nights ago, but it’s not so easy to get good pictures of myself. I love my darling husband dearly, but he is not a photographer. I usually have to set the camera, place him, place myself, and check each shot to see if he got anything decent. Today, we tried going outside for a little variety, but it was too cold for me to go through that whole thing. At one point I asked him if the lighting looked okay, and he had no idea. So I gave up. Most of his shots were blurry. This was the only decent one.. can you see the slight annoyance in my face?

Boatneck Bluebell in Brown Berries

Here are some shots where you see the sweater details a little better. I tried to get a good side view too, but they all looked crappy. Sorry, hunny.

Back:

Boatneck Bluebell back view

Front:

Boatneck Bluebell, finished!

  • Pattern: Boatneck Bluebell in 33″ size, from Stephanie Japel‘s Fitted Knits
  • Yarn: Malabrigo worsted merino in Brown Berries, just over 4 skeins – I had to break into a 5th for the last sleeve bind-off
  • Needles: Denise size 8, but size 10 for cast-on and bind-off, size 6 for waist ribbing, and size 7 for sleeve ribbing
  • Gauge: 19 stitches per inch in stockinette
  • Mods: Two extra raglan increases to accomodate my slightly smaller gauge, omitted sleeve increases, lengthened the sleeves (though they still look kind of short), knit sleeves in the round (not sure why they weren’t written that way), omitted the final two purl ridges on body and sleeves

I haven’t actually woven the underarm seams yet, and I’ve already worn the sweater in public!  When I knit the sleeves, I picked up extra stitches there and decreased them, so there’s not much of a hole.  But I do have loose ends hanging inside the sweater, so I should do it sooner or later. 

I looooooove Malabrigo! It is so beautifully soft that it’s worth the inevitable pilling. After knitting with that for a while, the Cascade 220 on my hubby’s sweater feels like twine. I haven’t blocked the sweater yet because I’m too lazy, but I think it would help with the curling at the bottom. I might wear it a few times first. The staff at work have seen me knitting it and are expecting to see me wearing it this week! It should look nice with my brown trousers.

I’m planning to use the remaining 5th skein to knit a Foliage hat from Knitty.com, which is so funny because the designer Emilee was one of my commenters on a previous post. I don’t wear hats much because my hair gets crazy static-y, but this one is so cute I must make it.

