After 3 1/2 years, I got my first visit in CT from a med school friend! Jessy, who is training in pediatric critical care, came by for a few hours, got reacquainted with Tim (he was just a little baby last time they met), and chatted with me about many things, from our medical careers, to our beloved Yankees and the steroids scandal, to learning about knitting! She’s learned before but wants to pick it up again, so I shared with her some good resources. When I learned to knit, my sister Pat gave me the Knitting For Dummies book. I’ve also found the knittinghelp.com website very helpful, complete with videos. And for Christmas, I got the Elizabeth Zimmerman Knitting Workshop on DVD, which includes beginner lessons as well. We also put her on the waiting list for Ravelry, where there are tons of people in the forums who can help, as well as on Knitter’s Review. I’ve never taken any knitting classes, but I encouraged her to find some LYS’s (she’s now in the Houston area) and look into those too.

New Year Visit from Jessy

Good luck, Jessy!  It was so good to see you.  Hope we can chat about knitting (or pediatrics, or the Yankees) again soon.

