I’ve never knit a sweater for my husband, Chris. Not because of the “sweater” curse — I’m not afraid because we’ve been happily married for 5 years, together for 14 years, and at this point it would be ridiculous to break up for any reason, let alone a sweater! But he is a really big guy (6’3″), as you can see in previous posts (for example), and he dislikes bulky sweaters. I’ve never had time to knit a big sweater in non-bulky yarn, but now I do, and since his birthday and Christmas are coming up, I thought now would be a good time to do it.

I’m posting it here because it’s not a secret. He helped me pick out the yarn, color, and pattern. I didn’t want to spend all that time knitting something he might not like in the end. So here’s my initial swatch:

Hubby sweater swatch

It’s Cascade 220 in Cordovan, a lovely heathered brown with reddish undertones. I’m using a size 7 needle, and have come up with 48″ around. Chris is on a diet and has had some initial success (sorry for broadcasting it, but yay for you honey!), so I’ve decided to forgo short rows in the belly area. I don’t have a specific pattern but am using the Dragon Skin stitch from Barbara Walker’s Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns, and am using Elizabeth Zimmerman’s construction for in-the-round sweaters. I haven’t decided yet what kind of shoulder shaping to use, maybe raglan. Here’s what it looks like after one pattern repeat.

Hubby sweater beginning

There’s a loooong way to go, but hopefully I’ll finish it this holiday season!

