Yay! I’m finally knitting something for me! I have been obsessed with this kind of yarn ever since I saw GGH Marathon but was unable to acquire it (DISCONTINUED Image). Then this Trekking XXL appeared, so I snatched it up immediately! It’s been waiting patiently in my stash for some time to knit socks for myself. This colorway is closest to the one I wanted of Marathon, with subtly changing shades of olive green, brown, rust, and even flecks of lilac. I chose a simple garter stitch 4×2 rib, and it’s turning out lovely, if I do say so myself! My feet are rather small — size 6, so store bought socks are usually baggy around the heels. For these, I’m knitting a narrower heel which fits very nicely. Can’t wait to finish them!

I’m using a circular 1.5mm Addi Turbo, getting gauge of about 10 stitches per inch. I’m doing Magic Loop for the first time, and since it’s not too different from using two circulars, it’s going smoothly. I turned the toe with short rows using decreases instead of wraps, and a reverse gusset and flap heel.

